The Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Tribal Council is the duly constituted traditional governing body of the Pueblo exercising all inherent governmental power, fiscal authority and tribal sovereignty as recognized in sections 101 and 104 of the Act of August 18, 1987 (the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Restoration Act), 101 Stat. 666, Public Law No. 100-89. Elected tribal officials—such as the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Alguacil (Traditional Sheriff), and four Council members—serve annual terms. The Governors also provide administrative oversight of tribal government operations and enterprises. The Council directs and approves the strategic and legislative affairs of the Pueblo. Additional Council seats include a Cacique and a War Captain appointed to life-long terms. The  Cacique and War Captain provide spiritual and traditional guidance with assistance from four traditional council members known as Capitanes. The Pueblo is governed by oral tradition as well as the Tribal Code of Laws enforced by Tribal Police and upheld by the Tribal Court.


2019 Governing Tribal Council


 2019 Governors


Left: Lt Governor Adam Torrez, Right: Governor Michael Silvas

Tribal Councilmen


Left to Right: Councilman Andrew Torrez, Councilman Rafael Gomez Jr., Councilman Raul Candelaria, Councilman Rudy Cruz Jr. 

 Spiritual Leader of Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo

Cacique Jose Sierra Sr.

Cacique Jose Sierra Sr.

 War Captain, Cacique, Aguacil (Tribal Sheriff)


Left to Right: War Captain Javier Loera, Cacique Jose Sierra Sr., Aguacil Bernardo Gonzales 

Tribal Council Office

117 S. Old Pueblo Dr.
El Paso, TX 79907
Phone: 915-859-8053



Ysleta Del Sur Pueblo
2016 Year-End Report
2016 Socioeconomic Profile

Tigua events