Tribal Government

Tigua Community Achievements
Tribal Council Mission and Vision Statement
YDSP Year-End Reports
Tribal Government

Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Tribal Council and Traditional Council


The Tribal Council (the Council) of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (the Pueblo), is the traditional governing body of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo exercising all inherent governmental power, fiscal authority and tribal sovereignty as recognized in sections 101 and 104 of the August 18, 1987 Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Restoration Act, 101 Stat. 666 Public Law No. 100-89.



2017 Governing Tribal Council


 2017 TC


Left to Right


Alguacil Bernardo Gonzales, Council Member Robert Pedraza, III, Governor Carlos Hisa, Council Member Rafael Gomez Jr., Cacique Frank Holguin, War Captain Javier Loera, Council Member Brandon Lee Hernandez, Council Member Rodolfo Cruz Jr., Lt. Governor Christopher Gomez  


The Pueblo's Tribal Government is comprised of a Traditional Council.  Elected Council seats include a Governor, a Lieutenant Governor, an Aguacil (bailiff or sheriff), and four Council Members.  The Council acts as a governing body and approves all major strategic decisions.  The Governors also provide administrative oversight of Tribal operations and business. 


Additional Council seats include a Cacique (Chief) and a Capitan de Guerra (War Captain).  These positions are also elected, but are life-long terms.  The Cacique and War Captain provide spiritual and traditional guidance.


The Tribe is governed by oral tradition as well as the Tribal Code of Laws enforced by the Tribal Police Department and upheld by the Tribal Court.  The Tribal Governors and Tribal Council Offices are housed in the administrative offices.



Spiritual Leader of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo


Cacique Francisco Holguin




Cacique with Tribal Governors

Left to Right -  Governor Carlos Hisa, Cacique Francisco Holguin, Lt. Governor Chrsitopher Gomez 






2017 Traditional Council Capitanes




Left to Right - Capitan Raul Willy Almanzar, III.Capitan Benjamin Paiz, Capitan Sergio Loera, Jr.Capitan Rene Lopez



Tribal Council Office

117 S. Old Pueblo Rd. (P.O. Box 17579) El Paso, TX 79907

Phone: 915-859-8053    Fax: 915-859-4252