Ysleta del Sur - Home
About Us Events News
Speaking Rock
Tribal Government

Tigua Community Achievements
Tribal Council Mission and Vision Statement
YDSP Year-End Reports
Tribal Government

Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Tribal Council and Traditional Council


The Tribal Council (the Council) of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (the Pueblo), is the traditional governing body of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo exercising all inherent governmental power, fiscal authority and tribal sovereignty as recognized in sections 101 and 104 of the August 18, 1987 Ysleta del Sur Pueblo Restoration Act, 101 Stat. 666 Public Law No. 100-89.



2014 Governing Tribal Council

Left to Right - Rafael Gomez, Jr., Roberto Pedraza III, Frank Paiz, Francisco Holguin, Javier Loera, Carlos Hisa,

David Gomez, Bernardo Gonzales, Francisco Gomez (not shown)



 The Pueblo's Tribal Government is comprised of a Traditional Council.  Elected Council seats include a Governor, a Lieutenant Governor, an Aguacil (bailiff or sheriff), and four Council Members.  The Council acts as a governing body and approves all major strategic decisions.  The Governors also provide administrative oversight of Tribal operations and business. 


Additional Council seats include a Cacique (Chief) and a Capitan de Guerra (War Captain).  These positions are also elected, but are life-long terms.  The Cacique and War Captain provide spiritual and traditional guidance.


The Tribe is governed by oral tradition as well as the Tribal Code of Laws enforced by the Tribal Police Department and upheld by the Tribal Court.  The Tribal Governors and Tribal Council Offices are housed in the administrative offices.



Spiritual Leader of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

Cacique Francisco Holguin





2014 Governing Tribal Council and Traditional Council

Center - Cacique Francisco Holguin

Left to Right - Rene Lopez, Carlos Hisa, Frank Paiz, Roberto Pedraza III, Javier Gonzales, Bernardo Gonzales, Rafael Gomez, Jr., Angel Granillo, David Gomez, Javier Loera.  Francisco Gomez and Rudy Cruz, Jr. (not shown)




Cacique with Tribal Governors

Left to Right - Governor Frank Paiz, Cacique Francisco Holguin, Lt. Governor Carlos Hisa






 Left to Right - War Captain Javier Loera, Cacique Francisco Holguin, Governor Frank Paiz,

Lt. Governor Carlos Hisa, Aguacil Bernardo Gonzales





2014 Governing Tribal Councilmen

Left to Right - Roberto Pedraza, III, David Gomez, Rafael Gomez, Jr.

Cacique Francisco Holguin Center

Not Shown:  Francisco Gomez



 2014 Traditional Council Capitanes

 Left to Right - Capitan Rene Lopez, Capitan Rudy Cruz, Jr., Capitan Angel Granillo, Capitan Javier Gonzales


Tribal Council Office

117 S. Old Pueblo Rd. (P.O. Box 17579) El Paso, TX 79907

Phone: 915-859-8053    Fax: 915-859-4252

Copyright ©2006-2014 — Ysleta del Sur Pueblo
Designed by Stanton Street